Is this the bike it says it is?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

CommuterBen

Regular
Saw this on eBay and just wondered if it was what they say it was. As I know little of bikes and this is my first time buying I thought I'd ask the pros. Can anyone tell me which year it is?

supposedly has:

carbon seat post
carbon fact forks
michelin lithion 2 tyres

Also how much should i be looking to pay for this bike? I don't want to be taken for a fool and pay well over the odds!

bike.JPG

DCLane

Found in the Yorkshire hills ...
It's an Allez, which will have carbon forks. Carbon seat post would be an upgrade and yes, it's got Lithion tyres according to the photos.

Price-wise? It's 2010-ish and it's running Sora groupset from what I can see.

I'd suggest it'll go for £280-300 but that's a shot in the dark. eBay prices still seem above what I'd pay, particularly when I've been selling items ^_^ but also when I'm buying :angry:

OP
OP
CommuterBen

CommuterBen

Regular
sounds good to me then was just making sure that I was buying the right bike as i'm a novice! Didn't want to fall for over pricing or things that were listed that aren't actually there! Are these bikes any good? I could get a triban for £50 more brand new?

Thanks for the swift and helpful replies

Ben.

DCLane

Found in the Yorkshire hills ...
True - the Allez is popular, but the Sora version there will be 3300 rather than the current 3400. That may be similar to the new Shimano 2300 that's on the Triban.

nickg

Über Member
I feel second.hand you get more value but brand new its shiny and new. Basically I bought second hand because I got more for my money, and you could probably sell it on for same sort of money if you don't get the cycling bug or decide to upgrade in couple of years. I can't comment on the bike quality because I don't know one.

Mr Haematocrit

msg me on kik for android
Price-wise? It's 2010-ish and it's running Sora groupset from what I can see.