I've had a taster!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Royalrider

Hi,
not sure if this is the correct forum, however.
I've just returned from a three day two night cycling/camping adventure in the Peak District.
I took my 11yr old son to a place called Hurdlow,6 mile south of Buxton in the White Peak. I'm new to this and unlike you experienced touring cyclists, I love reading about, I had the camping gear in the car and planned three days cycling from our one base camp.
We are completely hooked and have just got back from town with proper ordnance survey maps to plan our next venture.
I have read lots, on other forums, about the debate of a double or triple chainring. I am now convinced that when I invest in my new cycle, which I plan to do soon, it will definitely have to be a triple. I simply could not have made it up some of those hills with with names like Old Knoll and High Rake without it especially if I plan to carry gear in the future.

Your enthusiasm comes through loud and clear, Royalrider! ;)

Glad you and your son had such a good time. Sounds like your free/holiday time is going to be spent on two wheels and under 'canvas'!

All the best, and hang around here; there's a lot of info to be gleaned.

:sad:

Bigtallfatbloke

Cool!...I'd love to take my 14 year old with me but he has no interest. I think doing the car thing was wise to start with. Get a triple FFS....I ran out of gears on my triple on some of th ehills in Germany in July.

Tony

Just one hint (there are many, many things you'll learn). Before you go on a bike-riding camping tour, do as you have just done, but do it as a weekend with everything carried on the bikes. Pick a place with escape options (B&B, train station) and easy riding. This gives you a "shake down" trip, the only way to really learn what is essential on these trips. Enjoy!

OP
OP
R

Royalrider