I've started running (any tips or advice most welcome)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

johnnyb47

Guru
Hi,
With the dark cold nights rolling on, cycling this time of the year is hard going. I get quite cold for the first few miles before eventually warming up, and as I'm OCD with keeping my bike clean I'm forever cleaning it down. Also cycling at night on unlit roads makes me feel somewhat nervous from passing car's.
So i thought why not mix it a bit with a spot of running. I can pound the local streets and stay close to home whilst still getting some time in keeping fit.
The last time i ever ran was to get to the pub before closing time so as you can imagine I'm a bit of a novice.
As regards to cycling I think I'm fairly competent and enjoy rides of 60 miles.
Tonight I laced up my shoes and tacked a 2 mile run reaching a max HR of 172 bpm.
Once home i felt like I'd cycled 10 miles at full gas.
Are there any joggers here who can point me some advice in my tender first steps into running.
I know this is a cycling forum but I also know you are all a good bunch who always give great advice.
All the best,
Johnny

Mo1959

Legendary Member
Don’t set off too fast. Give your cv system and legs time to warm up and settle down before picking the pace up if you want. Just build mileage very gradually to avoid injury. Decent shoes if you don’t already have them. Maybe do a bit off road to avoid too much heavy pounding. Good head torch can be fun. I’m often out before 6am and love the peace and quiet running along in my little bubble of light. :smile:

Running and cycling use different muscles, or they use the same muscles in different ways. Running also makes more use of tendons. All of which means that when you start running it will hurt. Maybe a bit, maybe a lot.