Keeping safe and being seen on the road

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I've just watched Jeremy Vine who articulated thoughts I have held for many years, the need for cyclists to wear safety helmets that are known to reduce the seriousness of head injury and the need to wear high-vis clothing to enhance perceptibility. Whilst we all have our own individual opinion and exercise freedom of choice, I have yet to be convinced that cyclists who do not make an effort to make themselves seen or do not make a effort to wear head protection are in a safer position on the roads than those who do.

Oldhippy

Cynical idealist
I have been riding in all traffic situations since 1970, never owned a cycle hat, day glo or any other 'safety' equipment. I continue to use my cycle as daily transport and never been killed or run over. I cover over 4000 miles a year. Confidence Confidence Confidence! It is NOT my responsibility to ensure drivers are paying attention in their mobile living room!

Ming the Merciless

There is no mercy
Not sure why you want someone to convince you. Most of us just get on with riding our bikes and make our own choices in the absence of compelling data either way. There are many other everyday activities where a helmet may make much more sense than when cycling. But you don’t see people questioning why people don’t wear helmets when they are at much greater risk of head injury.
64A7BBB8-84A5-475F-B549-713F5D12B88C.jpeg

What we do know is that cycling is extremely safe, about same as walking mile for mile. Both would be even safer if speed limits are reduced, we reduce rat runs, and vehicle use is discouraged where alternates exist. Hence the priority of LTNs in news at the moment.

EE9C3813-2F5E-4CFC-9569-33B5C78289E5.jpeg

All uphill

Still rolling along
An endless discussion, as we all know.