Looking for my first folding bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

anonyy

Regular
Hi

I recently moved and unfortunately had to leave my bike in storage i normally ride a 20" mens bike i am female and 5'8/5'9 in height.

I havent used or ridden a folding bike before so a complete newbie to them. i need to get about and use panniers can someone please suggest and what I should look out for etc

Would i have to by smaller panniers on them?
Are folding bikes comfortable, i am intending to do leisure cycling as well, i would hate to have bought one that i couldn't use much.
Do you lock them in the same fashion or...?

i may look at second hand, is there anything i should be looking at and thinking about durability wise? I currently weigh about 14 stone can they carry this type of weight?

Thanks

nobby styles

I recently purchased a Dahon Vitesse D7 HG folder and it's great for my 22 mile round trip commute. I've never used a folding bike before but it's comfortable and fairly fast if a bit more "flexy" than my old hybrid. I use my old standard size pannier bag no problems as it has a back rack and there's enough height from the ground for standard panniers to be used safely. I'm a 6ft, 17 stone male and I haven't had any problems with it handling my weight. I have a cheap light lock as I never leave it outside for any length of time as I keep it in the office at work and in my bedroom at home. That's the beauty of folding bikes :smile:

OP
OP
A

anonyy

Regular
i'm not looking to pay stupid money right now, i think no more than £150 if possible or something second hand.

T4tomo

Legendary Member
if its in decent condition then yes they are quite solid , but bear in mind its 40 years old! sturmey archer 3 speed gears are pretty bomb proof. But don't pay stupid money for one.

Presumably you want a folder so its easier to store?

OP
OP
A

anonyy

Regular