Mastering replacing inner tubes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bobsinatra

Über Member
Hi

As a beginner, I am capping my rides to about 30 miles. Whilst I am not bad at changing an inner tube in my shed, at the side of the road I find it more tricky.

I have Continental gatorskins and they can be difficult to fit back on the wheel. I have learnt my lesson with continental inner tubes and will be using a new brand. The valve core coming out on a hand pump is v frustrating.

I would like to join a cycling club, but locally, none are accepting new members and the government seems to want to shut down the country for 2021 also.

I was thinking of getting a 700 wheel and an additional gatorskin tyre and just practising on a spare. With repetition, I should get better.

Knowing that I could speedily replace an inner tube, I would develop the confidence to get up to the 25 mile mark.

Any other advice appreciated.

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Talc the inside of your tyres and the tube, then if you need to replace on the road, there will be enough talc to stop the new tube sticking to the rim or tyre, making fitting easy. You don't need to talc a spare tube.

cyberknight

As long as I breathe, I attack.
have you got wire or folding bead tyres?
wired are harder to get on and off and i found gators harder than some to do and not overly brilliant at protection anyway

OP
OP
bobsinatra

bobsinatra

Über Member
Practising is an excellent idea.

In not sure why you need a new wheel and tyre for that, surely better to use your existing one? Particularly as differences in tyre and rim can make a big sufferers to how difficult it is.

Some tyre/rim combinations can be an absolute pig, I've recently acquired one of these to help with one such.

https://www.spacycles.co.uk/m13b0s72p1263/VAR-Tyre-Lever

Yes that is an option, but when my bike is all set up, I like to leave it that way.