My First Road BIke

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Cwotherspoon90

Hi. Im in the market for my first roadbike. the problem is im a fiscally challenged student! having trailed the 2nd hand markets its looking like my budget of £200 (tops) will only stretch to a B'twain or Carrera. having done my homework I realise these come with mixed reviews. Ideally im looking for something that will last me a year or so until I can muster up the cash for a Giant Defy or Scott S50. any thoughts or advice?

also i've recently been offered a Muddyfox Pace for £100... I realize these come with some terrible reviews but for the sake of a year (cycling occasionally to uni 20miles & recreationally at weekends upto 50miles) would this be a decent starter bike to tide me over?

Supersuperleeds

Legendary Member
I wouldn't touch the muddyfox with a barge pole. If you can get a 2nd hand Triban 3 for your money then that is what I would recommend, lots of members on here have them.

Hi. Im in the market for my first roadbike. the problem is im a fiscally challenged student! having trailed the 2nd hand markets its looking like my budget of £200 (tops) will only stretch to a B'twain or Carrera. having done my homework I realise these come with mixed reviews. Ideally im looking for something that will last me a year or so until I can muster up the cash for a Giant Defy or Scott S50. any thoughts or advice?

also i've recently been offered a Muddyfox Pace for £100... I realize these come with some terrible reviews but for the sake of a year (cycling occasionally to uni 20miles & recreationally at weekends upto 50miles) would this be a decent starter bike to tide me over?
I know a lot of people are against Vikings but I have done over 6,500 miles on mine in the last 12 months