Need advice on upgrading 32T chainring

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

AliShah2020

Hi everyone!

I am new to cycling. I bought a Mountain Bike last month and use it primarily for city commuting, exercise and going to the park occasionally.

I have a 1 x 10, 32T chainring with 11/42T cassette. The gearing is 11-13-15-17-19-21-24-28-32-38-42.

As my legs have gotten stronger I have realized the 32T chainring is now too slow for me, especially when I am bombing it on down hill roads. I feel I am "spinning out" if that makes sense. I need a chainring that gives me "more power." :bicycle:

What is the biggest chainring I can get please? I am considering a 38T chainring, but I am wondering if I should go for a 40T? Also how do I know the biggest chainring I can get compatibility wise?

Many thanks for your input! :okay:

Cycleops

Legendary Member
What make of chainset do you have? Is the chainring bolted on? A pic would be good.

gbb

Legendary Member
Your chainset will dictate what can go on, find the BCD of the existing chainring, that's you starting point.
One thing though, Ive done this before, albeit with larger chainring, look vertically down at the trailing edge of the chainring, near the chain stay, how much distance is there between the two ?
I wanted to up a 38t to a 42 or something near, when I fitted it, it rubbed on the chainstay, not enough room (without fitting a wider BB)

Gazjacko