Negotiating phone contracts

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I know your current provider will (sensibly) try and get you to re-sign before your existing contract completes, therefore keeping you for another 12\18\24months, but I have no experience of trying to switch to another provider before the existing contract completes.

MrJamie

Oaf on a Bike
As 2Loose says, theyre likely to try and get you to re-sign a contract with them before youre free for the other providers to tempt you away. Lots of people are so impatient, if theyre offered the latest smartphone with a tiny discount theyll take it rather than wait a month and shop around.

OP
OP
fatblokish

fatblokish

Guru
OK, but why would my existing provider need my custom so much more than a new provider that it is willing to offer me a better deal?

berty bassett

Legendary Member
swap - or at least phone your provider and ask for the pac code - dont know why but they go into a tail spin . i was with orange 200mins 18quid ,found virgin were doing 1100 mins for 14 quid - i told orange and they damn near matched it - but i changed anyway as there were other perks as well and it was very easy to change - i will try this with all insurances and anything else that involves negotiation - loyalty now means nothing to these companies

Berties

Fast and careful!
its all down to if you get a upgrade or a new phone!if you have a rolling contract using a current phone you should get a spot on deal but if you get a £300 phone on a 2 year contract you pay for the hardware

edindave

Über Member
Why is it best to do this a month or so before one's contract expires?

So you can change and not be tied in to another 2 year/18month whatever contract. :thumbsup: