New to Bkool

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

McNeil

Hi,

I have just purchased a Bkool go, and set it up using Bluetooth to my iPad. I’m new to cycling and not very fit, but I struggled to do a 6 mile ride on my first attempt (took me 40mins). I did the 20min FTP test yesterday and managed a very measly 100W, Amateur 1, and a long way from amateur 2! I’m trying to figure out if my fitness is worse than I thought, or if there’s something wrong with the setup. The FTP test is supposed to simulate a 2% incline, and I spent the whole time in my lowest two gears. This feels much more difficult than cycling on the road.

I’d appreciate any advice or ideas you can give me!

theboxers

TheBoxers on Cycle Sim sw
Hi,

I have just purchased a Bkool go, and set it up using Bluetooth to my iPad. I’m new to cycling and not very fit, but I struggled to do a 6 mile ride on my first attempt (took me 40mins). I did the 20min FTP test yesterday and managed a very measly 100W, Amateur 1, and a long way from amateur 2! I’m trying to figure out if my fitness is worse than I thought, or if there’s something wrong with the setup. The FTP test is supposed to simulate a 2% incline, and I spent the whole time in my lowest two gears. This feels much more difficult than cycling on the road.

You sound like me 3 yrs ago. The first few times were a shock to the just quit smoking, grossly overweight, unfit system. It gets better, honest :whistle:. Just continue to pick short, flatish rides to get used to the system. Also read the FAQ and ask questions here.

A few things you may need to get if you don't have them. Not essential but very helpful.

A fan. Cycling when hot with no air movement sucks. A fan will make a big difference.
A heart rate monitor. Gives you a good idea of where you are physically.
Pump up your tyre. Low pressures make it very hard work.