Newbe question about pedals!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ChrisGW115

Hi All, I am new to riding and have purchased myself aScott Sportster 55 for commuting and also for trail riding.

I need some help choosing pedals, the stock peddles the bike comes with arebasic and i keep slipping off them. I would like some clip in peddles that aresuitable for the stop start would of commuting but also would be fine for roughtrails.

Can anyone help?

TheDoctor

Europe Endless
Double sided SPDs like these ones from CRC.

And they're 'pedals', BTW :biggrin:

You'll need shoes to match, and the cleats come with the pedals.
I use SPDs for everything - touring, road bike, the lot.
Very secure, and you can walk in them for cafes, shopping and such.

If you've never used clip in pedals before everyone, (well mostly, and myself included) will recommend you start of with THESE, (or similar SPD).

Main reason being, they are relatively cheap, the shoes are easier to walk in, they are double sided so therefore easier to clip in/out.

You can usually pick them up even cheaper off ebay, (shoes as well), and then if you decided to progress into Speedplay/Time/Look etc in the future the SPD's peds & shoes will be very easy to sell on :thumbsup:

[EDIT] oops, slight cross post with TheDoctor :biggrin:

TheDoctor

Europe Endless
Good points well made, smoo.
Except...I progressed to SPD from Look after almost sliding over on Look cleats in a cafe.
I nearly dropped my tea and cake.
SPDs are dead easy to walk in
thumbsup.png

Good points well made, smoo.
Except...I progressed to SPD from Look after almost sliding over on Look cleats in a cafe.
I nearly dropped my tea and cake.
SPDs are dead easy to walk in
thumbsup.png