No hands.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Biker man

As a oap I hadn't ridden a bike since I was a boy and took to ebikes straight away.When I was a boy we used to show off riding no hands ,I tried it on my ebike and just can't .A friend can't either he thinks it's because we are old .Wonder if anyone knows why.

I think the ease of doing it is connected to the bike geometry
something to do with the way the front forks are angled and pointed and something and something

as you can tell I'm not an expert

but it may be that your old bike when you were a kid just self centred easier than your ebike
I know I would never ride our folder with no hands - my big ebike I can a bit but it is dodgy

OP
OP
B

Biker man

I think the ease of doing it is connected to the bike geometry
something to do with the way the front forks are angled and pointed and something and something

as you can tell I'm not an expert

but it may be that your old bike when you were a kid just self centred easier than your ebike
I know I would never ride our folder with no hands - my big ebike I can a bit but it is dodgy
Yes it gets shaky there is a hill I come down and need to right it hair-raising to put my hand out with my left braking and impatient motorists behind.

T4tomo

Legendary Member
you have to have your weight back over the back wheel and be relaxed, which is dead easy to do as a no fear kid.

if you lean forward with your hands hovering above the bars "just in case" all tense, then it becomes self full filling and you wobble and need to grab the bars.

....So fully commit to no hands and sit up straight and proud, you will either succeed and feel the gay abandonment of youth again, or face plant.

I accept no liability for dental work, death or serous injury should it be the latter.