Oil thread (vehicles)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

figbat

Slippery scientist
As promised in this thread, here’s a new thread to discuss, debate and debunk some of the known ‘truths’ and myths regarding lubricating oils. This first post is likely to be quite long, so bear with me. Hopefully what will follow will be a discussion, questions, suggestions or any other commentary on the subject.

My credentials to lead this discussion? In July 1992 I graduated with a degree in chemistry and walked straight into a job with one of the world’s best-known lubricant names. Today I still work there, having spent most of that 31 years in their R&D function. I have developed and supported oils for most automotive applications as well as a significant time working with marine engines. So that’s everything from a 50cc moped to a 100,000bhp diesel engine. Right now I look after transmission oils (auto, manual, DCT, CVT, axle etc) for cars, trucks, tractors etc and also EVs.

So, where to start? Perhaps the best place is to go back to a statement I made on t’other thread, “some of what had been said up-thread is not true and some has basis in fact”, and pick out certain comments for expansion.

“two years IMO is far too long for a car not to be up on a ramp and inspected.”
OK, so the much-debated extended oil drain interval topic. First, a bit of context. Some OEMs (“original equipment manufacturer”… car maker) offer oil drain intervals up to 30,000 km or 2 years. There are a few factors behind this, but one significant one is cost of ownership. Reduced servicing cost is a selling point (to some, especially fleets). It’s actually self-harming to the OEM dealer network because this means they don’t get to see the customer as often, so fewer opportunities to get up in their face with offers, deals, new parts etc.