Painkillers during long ride?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Marko62

Just wondering what the general consensus is on using painkillers during the latter half of a long ride?

I'm building my mileage up in preparation for the Cheshire Cat the end of this month. Only the 66 mile version this year (only been riding for a year) and at the moment am building my mileage up slowly each weekend. I'm OK until around 50 miles then I start getting neck ache which seriously detracts from the ride having to stop every few miles for a good stretch. Now I've flipped my stem so have done what I can do with my bike but when it comes to the Cat do you think it's OK to maybe take a couple of painkillers later on in the ride? Not anything heavy and certainly not Ibuprofen as I have renal problems so it will be either Paracetamol or Paracetamol/Codeine...

montage

God Almighty
Personally I would say no. I have no scientific knowledge or reason for this, but it just seems wrong. Infact I was offered ibuprofen today for a similar incident like this. First 20 mile run, (*hides from those cyclists who attempt to burn runners at the stake* but there was 3000ft of ascent!) and I completely crashed and burned due to leg cramp about 12 miles in, even though I have trained to this distance many times. Abouth 15.5 miles in I had the worst cramp I have ever experienced in my right calf, I cannot even describe the pain apart from it made my vision blurry and I was physically sick. A passing by runner offered assistance in the form of ibuprofen, which I declined, upon offering it again I believe a referred to him as the F***ing spawn of satan's turd, such was my state.

Anyway, I stay away from drugs to help boost excersize in anyway, mild painkillers included.
Hopefully somebody will offer more scientific advise shortly

OP
OP
M

Marko62