Pavement cycling

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi everyone,

I'm thinking about cycling to work in London and I spoke to my friend who started a couple of months ago said she said she started off cycling the difficult bits on the pavement.

I personally don't like pavement cycling as I know it's illegal, but there are bits of my route which are horrendous so I won't have a choice.

For those who've cycled on the pavement, what are your thoughts? Any tips?

Also, what was getting into cycling like for you? I'm hoping once I get going I'll feel more confident.

Old jon

Guru
For those who've cycled on the pavement, what are your thoughts? Any tips?

Hello and welcome to Cycle Chat.

Thoughts in plenty, but few of much use. I tend to take the longer way around, when possible, of any bits of a route I do not feel happy riding.

dodgy

Welcome!

I very very rarely feel the need to get on the pavement, I've been riding for many years, but I can completely understand why a novice finds it tempting.
This makes me quite angry really, there must be so many people who would commute by bike if they felt safe :sad:

My only advice is use your discretion, if the police see you, they'll probably turn a blind eye as they, too, can show discretion with these matters. As long as you're not speeding along and posing a threat to pedestrians. Just make sure you take to the roads whenever possible and try to reduce your dependency on the paths over time.

Finally, if you are challenged by a policeman/woman, make sure to tell them you did it as you felt in danger and you aren't posing a danger to any other path users because there aren't any. And if there are other path users, you're on to a loser.

Have fun.

Look at different routes. My route is lovely but not the most direct. Plenty of advice and options for picking a route.

Also, link to a particular bit you don’t want to ride and you should get some advice as to have to navigate it safely.