Pimp my ride (tyres)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

vickster

Legendary Member
Been thinking about prettying up the Pave a bit (for when it's built lol), and I think she'd look much more fetching with red boots than the blacks ones she is to get.

Being new to the whole road bike thing, I am going for 700 x 25 (no real impact on speed, bit more comfortable and better for my confidence, however the choice is much more limited than for 23s.

I have found these that look decent and a reasonable price (cannot find cheaper on the net).

http://www.westbrookcycles.co.uk/co...ad-700x25-blackred-kevlar-folding-tyre-p83222

Total newbie question - these are presumably designed for the road (!) and also what is the difference between folding and tubular apart from what I think is blindingly obvious? :wacko:

Cubist

Still wavin'
The tyres you link to are great. There are faster tyres out there, but I have those on my Boardman and they are good and grippy, reasonably fast and so far have resisted gravel-based deflation attacks,.........

Folding tyres have a flexible kevlar bead that means you can fold them and stick then in a pack or under the saddle as a spare, wired tubular are marginally heavier, and if you aren't a weight weenie will do fine. Tubular simply means you fit it to a standard rim with an inner tube.

StuAff

Silencing his legs regularly
Folding & tubular? You've got mixed up there. Tubular tyres are what racers (pro and amateur) use- they require specific rims, and are glued in place. Lighter, better ride allegedly, but much less convenient for normal road use (PITA if you get a puncture, for one thing). You want regular, clincher tyres (like the Bontragers you linked to)- that's what you'll have fitted on the Pave. Folding tyres do exactly what it says on the tin- fold for easier storage etc. Usually a bit lighter than the non-folding type.