Powder coat or paint myself? Dawes Kingpin.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Brand X

I was pretty well set on getting the frame and forks powder-coated until I read a word of warning on a bike forum that while powder-coating is cheap, because a primer is not required when the paint gets chipped, there is no layer of protection to prevent rust from rapidly spreading beneath the surface. As a side-note there was also mention of the risk of "drying out" vintage aluminium frames which is something I had never considered - it doesn't affect the Kingpin because the Kingpin is steel-framed.

What do you think? I've got a good air-compressor and a cheap "touch-up" paint gun, but I've never done proper paint job before and I'm not sure I'm going to get a good finish with the cold and damp Wintery weather moving in; I can work under cover in the garage but I would need the door open for light and ventilation.

Also, I'm not sure how much the paint is going to cost. I can buy these 120ml paints for £11 a bottle:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/like/1511...=1006516&device=c&campaignid=620794543&crdt=0

but then there's primer and lacquer which will bump the price up. I've got two bikes to do, so I could do them both in the same colours to save money but I don' want to waste time and effort and money and end up with embarrassing and disappointing results.

dim

look at having it enameled .... looks a lot better than powder coating, plus it's more durable

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
I painted a bike which had too much surface rust to leave IMO. If I was doing it again, I'd wait for spring/summer (nights above 10 degrees) because it took flaming ages to cure in a heated shed. Even when I thought it was done after a couple of weeks, it was maybe another month before it was really hardened against heavy knocks!

screenman

Legendary Member