Quiet bike and smart trainer

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

83dons

I like the look of the rouvy app and want to start cycle training in my second floor flat. I want to keep weight and mainly noise down to a minimum but have the realism of the augmented reality app on the TV.

I have identified the stac zero halcyon as a noise free smart trainer for about £700 and it seemingly works with rouvy. Now I need a bike to use with it. I don't intend using it on the road outside. Looking something economical but most importantly very quiet. What would you recommend?

No expert but I guess a bike that has quiet gear changes and doesn't click much while cruising not peddling be best?!

I'm no expert on Smart trainers as mine is only semi smart but I would go for direct drive. I live in a flat also and those were reviewed to be quietest and the reviews were right (Ive got a Elite Turbo Muin btw).

OP
OP

83dons

Thanks the one I mention above is zero noise as there is no friction. Nearer £600 seemingly. Its the bike itself I will need to limit the noise on. Not a clue what to go for. Given I won't use it outside it just needs to be comfortable to sit on and not noisy. Don't mind getting second hand.

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
They aren't loud - I train in my garage as the house is far too warm - currently not much above freezing in the garage, but still need two fans to cool me, and I'm using a micro-fibre towel as well.... cooling is a big issue. My laptop speakers are enough to hear music/zwift. I do use an old pc for streamed music with small speakers - it's enough.

JhnBssll

Veteran