Road fit vs MTB fit

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Had a good year so far on the road with some decent improvements although climbing speed is still my nemesis, targeting more weight reduction and trying to increase my FTP to hopefully see some improvements next Spring.

In the mean time I’ve taken a first step in to the World of MTBing as I see this as a way to keep some fitness through the Winter, wet and windy days are not for me in the road. What I’m curious to understand more about is the difference between road fitness and off-road fitness, so far I can see some very high cadence efforts to just get to the top of a 100m climb on the MTB, some high HR to achieve that but the efforts in a ride are certainly very different. My road efforts are all about efficiency vs MTB where I’m just learning the ropes but a lot of it seems more about technique and where a wrong gear selection can have a huge impact on a short slippery climb

I did around 45km today on the MTB with 900m of climbing but wow was it hard going, 900m in the mud and grime seems 10 x more effort vs the road but wondered if that’s just my perception, my crap technique or that I need to develop a different fitness level ?

I’ve got a few more routes lined up for the MTB that are around 70-90km with 1500-2000m but I need to improve before I can tackle those, oh and have a lot more time available (16kmh vs 32kmh burns a ton of time)

Interested to learn more on this and enjoy the mud in the forest 😀

Gunk

Guru
My own experience is that when riding a MTB on off road terrain 10 miles feels like 20 on a road bike.

wafter

I like steel bikes and I cannot lie..