Sit down or stand up

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Trickieshep

Regular
At 52 yrs, I am new to road cycling (mtb for a number of years) and am finding on longer rides I suffer from lower back pain when climbing hills.
Talking to various people, some have said suffer it, it gets better. Others have said stand up when climbing.
Any advice will be much appreciated

young Ed

Veteran
try each and sea what you find?
is bike properly set up for you? can you get a professional to check it?
how about the saddle is that any good? remember the saddle is very personal
Cheers Ed

U

User6179

I would try stretching exercises to see if that helps .

@Trickieshep alternate, there is no right or wrong, I don't climb many big hills here, but when I ventured towards the Pennines there are a couple, I will get out of the saddle to rest certain muscles, then go back to the saddle, this will also help with the lower back as it also gets to move position.

Studley

I'm 52, I also suffer back pain when I'm either pushing too hard on the flats or when I'm pushing up hills, dancing on the pedals seems to make it worse for me. I can regulate the pain to some degree through the use of lower gears but it's easy to overdo it it and before you know it the pain comes on. Gonna try doing some back strengthening and stretching exercises over winter see if that helps.

OP
OP
T

Trickieshep

Regular
Thanks for the replies.
A friend of the wifes has been today and suggested Pilates, apparently it is very good for stretching and strengthening the back.
My missus is looking to sign us both on a 4 week course:smile:

Pat "5mph"

A kilogrammicaly challenged woman
Thanks for the replies.
A friend of the wifes has been today and suggested Pilates, apparently it is very good for stretching and strengthening the back.
Hi, don't do many hills, me! :whistle: