Some thoughts / advice on a bike?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

crazyclimber

Hi all, first post so I'll also introduce myself, I'm Ioan, I'm 23 and from mid Wales. Hello! :wacko:
I'm completely new to cycling; learned to ride a bike as a kid obviously but that's about it. I was planning on walking LEJOG for a couple charities this summer (actually prob JOGLE) but due to time constraints it got to the stage where I'd have had to practically run it, so, thought I, why not bike it.
What I'm really after (to start with anyway) is advice on a bike. I visited my local bike store earlier and the gent suggested a Trek 7200 or Trek 7.2 FX plus panniers, racks, mudguards, etc - both around £350, heading towards £500 by the time they're kitted out which is the kinda price I can manage. They're a hybrid bike apparently that'll do well both onroad and light offroad? I'll prob use various sustrans routes most of the way so can't imagine myself needing anything too bombproof, just as long as they'll last the distance. Hopefully longer too since I think I could get into this cycling!
Do you reckon they're suitable? will they last the trip OK? I don't plan on doing serious mileage every day, I plan on stopping quite a bit too, so I'm counting on around 3 weeks for the trip.
Any thoughts or ideas very welcome. Thanks!
Ioan

Andy in Sig

Vice President in Exile
Have a look at Edinburgh Bikes website (it might be Edinburgh Bicycles or Cycles). Their own brand tourer, fully specced, might be in your price range and will certainly do what you want. It's had good reviews.

Just out of curiousity, how do you pronounce your name?

Welcome, by the way.

willem

Über Member
Or get yourself a decent second hand or even new Dawes Galaxy. Just shop around a bit.
Willem

willem

Über Member
That Dawes Horizon is a real bargain for a steel touring bike with drop bars, and far more attractive than the Edinburg bike with alloy frame and disc (grrr) brakes.
Willem