Sore thigh muscles - am I overdoing things?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

r04DiE

300km a week through London on a road bike.
Hello all,

I have been cycling (on and off) for about 25 years. Family responsibilities are partly the reason for the on-offness but overall (especially recent years), I have been reasonably good, without too many long gaps. That said, in previous years, I have sometimes stopped for months at a time.

I do find that my thigh muscles tend to really ache when I am riding, and this has been the case for a long time but I have noticed it even more this year after buying a new bike and really making an effort to do three days a week to work (around 200km in all). More often than not, commutes aren't spaced evenly over the week (i.e. Mon, Wed, Fri), and I will often find myself doing 3 consecutive days (Wed, Thu, Fri this week).

Its odd - I am trying to work within higher heart rate zones but my legs are hurting so much that I find I cant push more to get into the zone that I want to be in. My average cadence on yesterday's commute home was 85, so I think I'm about right there. I have tried varying the cadence but there is no relief.

So, it's Saturday today, and after the three consecutive commutes, my thighs are very sore. It's quite painful to squat down, as I was this morning when I turned on the bathroom scales for my 2-monthlyish weigh-in (just out of curiosity).

So, I am 47 - is this age-related, am I pushing myself too hard, do I need to take some kind of protein supplement, any other advice you guys could offer? I love my cycling, in fact I need my cycling - but I would really like to return it to a largely painless experience.

I would value your opinions.

vickster

Legendary Member
1. Check your saddle height and riding position, new bike...