Strange Triban 3 brake problem - pictures.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Globalti

Legendary Member
This is the rear brake on my son's Triban 3, which was damaged in a nasty accident last week.

Now I've been fettling bikes for almost 50 years and there isn't much I can't fix so this has got me flummoxed - the RH brake arm seems to be distorted so that the brake pad doesn't reach the rim properly and there's no more room in the slot to move it downwards. Eventually it's going to contact the tyre and wear the bead away so I need to get it right.

Anybody got any suggestions for a remedy? Can somebody with the same bike compare this brake with their own and tell me if they think it may have got distorted in the crash? There are no signs of damage to the finish as you would expect if it hit a rock or a tree and anyway damage was confined to the front end of the bike.

I guess I could take it back to Decathlon and complain but it's a 70 mile drive to Stockport and back or 45 miles to Bolton and back through the traffic of Darwen and when they see the replacement STIs and wheels they will know the bike has been crashed and will use that as an opt-out... I guess.

P1070380.jpg

P1070391.jpg

I could only summise it must have been bent in the crash, (presuming all was well with it before).

The calipers, (as you'll know), are only cheap units, generic mass produced items just with b:twin on them.

If you don't fancy having a crack at Decathlon over it I think your only option is a replacement one.

I personally wouldn't try and straighten it due to metal fatigue.

Hope your lads recovering well :thumbsup:

D

Deleted member 23692

Looks to me like it's slightly out of shape too. Might be worth comparing it side be side with the front brake (assuming it's the same model).

defy-one

It doesn't look distorted from your picture. I know i'm teaching you to suck eggs here,but is the frame square with the wheel properly seated in it's mount?