Strava Premium cost difference

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

maxfox44

Hi Guys

I've been using Strava free for 18 months or so now and having got a Garmin Edge 820, I thought I'd go premium and get the segments live on screen to add a bit of interest.

I'm slightly puzzled by the cost. If I go on their website and "go premium" it's £39.99/yr or £3.99/mo. But if I "go premium" on my iphone, it's £44.99/yr or £5.99/mo.

Anyone seen this? If I buy via the website, I assume it will upgrade my app too, but not sure????

U

User6179

Sign up for the 60 day free trial on the website and cancel before the 60 days ends if your not happy with it .

U

User33236

It's probably the Apple tax! They take a % cut of every transaction via the App Store and associated apps.

You can get live segments without going premium via this website. http://gniza.org/segments/

From what I tested I could see no difference between what the site above did and what Strava gives in respect to live segments.

D

Deleted member 26715

But it's a scam company that wants your CC details before giving you something FREE, this should be illegal, I thought it had stopped last century

U

User33236

But it's a scam company that wants your CC details before giving you something FREE, this should be illegal, I thought it had stopped last century
I fail to see how they are a scam company.

OED definition of scam: A dishonest scheme; a fraud.

In return for providing your credit card details, and for zero cost, they provide with with the as promised access to their premium membership for an agreed period. At the time of signing up you agree to allow them to charge your CC an agreed fee to continue your premium membership unless you choose to cancel it which you are freely allowed to do. Nothing in the terms above strikes me as dishonest or fraudulent.