Time for grown up shoes?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Mile195

Veteran
So I've been using Shimano SPD's for 9 years. I have a fairly chunky commute - 40 miles a day (return) through London so I'm in and out of the pedals at traffic lights alot. It's also occsasionally useful to be able to walk around in my cycling shoes if I go out after work hence why I ride in mountain bike shoes on SPD's.

This said, I get in a bit more weekend riding than I used to, and on long rides I'm starting to feel that I could benefit from the additional support and distribution of pressure that "proper" road shoes offer. I get occasional aches and such in my knees. It's not poor setup - just age I think.

My pedals and cleats are totally worn out, and shoes are reaching the end of their useful life. So rather than replacing them, I'm wondering whether or not to just bite the bullet and go for a whole new system.

What's people's thoughts on commuting through London in more road-focused pedal systems? And which do you use? How long do you find a set of shoes lasts, and do you find the reduced "float" in such systems to be helpful, or detrimental?

Cheers all for your thoughts

My shoes have lasted 4 years but go through a set of cleats every 6 months mostly commute milage.

I'd have stayed on spds if i known what i know now. I will admit i did it for snob bike didnt look right reason

Dommo

Veteran
I do the flat pedals + Five Ten shoes on my MTB and it's a great combo, but for a London commute similar in length I use Crank Bros Eggbeaters. If you want to stick to a clipless system, they're great for city riding as you can be in and out of them super quick due to the fact that they're omnidirectional.