To aero or not to aero?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Gmtanderson

Hi guys!

usual punter here! So I’ll give you all a background on me and my riding first quickly without sounding like too much of n*bhead.

I’m 28 and based in Essex, so yeah pretty flat... I’ve been cycling around 4 months and have a specialized Alez elite, I really like it but I fancy something carbon. I cycle between 230-350k a week. On runs of 80k-100k I can keep 32.6kph as my average with around 500-700m of climbing involved. I know making me fast is going to largely be me and my fitness, but I’m wondering if my riding would be more suited to an aero bike or carbon racer. I would like to do some sportives and such in the future but I’m still a novice. The bikes I’m interested in are,

Giant propel advanced 1 disc
Specialized tarmac comp disc
Specialized roubaix comp
And the ribble aero 883 (which I can get with di2 carbon bars and mavic alloy wheels for the same money weighing in around 8.7-9kg)

would an aero bike be better suited to me with the more rolling terrain, or would something like the roubaix be just as fast. If anyone has any of these bikes please give me some feedback, also I would probably upgrade to some carbon wheels at some point!

regards

George

DSK

I'm no where near the level of many riders but, have the following so not far off what you have/want.

Trek Alpha - just sold.
Giant TCR Di2
Giant Propel 2017 105

According to my Garmin, I'm always quicker on the Propel.

The Propel despite being a focused aero bike, is surprisingly VERY comfortable and just that much easier to maintain momentum on. Head down, elbows in, power on and the propel f*cking flies. On the climbs for me, it climbs every bit as well as the others and dare I say again, feels that bit easier despite the TCR being lighter.

Take the same person regardless of fitness, put them on a decent aero bike and they will always be faster on the aero no doubt.