Took The Plunge. Bought A Boardman SLR 8.9 Carbon Road Bike.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Lovacott

Über Member
After 9 months of commuting on my Apollo MTB whilst ooming and arring about what to get next, I've finally taken the plunge and bought a carbon road bike.

I set my mind on the Boardman a few months back as it seems the best value performance road bike available within the £1000 ceiling Cycle to Work scheme.

I pick it up next Saturday from my local Halfords.

I've never ridden a carbon bike before and I haven't ridden a racing bike since the 1990's. I've never used brake lever shifters before either. I'm itching to give it a go.

I don't intend to use it for commuting though (unless it's perfect daylight and dry conditions).

My intention is to commute on the old MTB and use the road bike for weekend jaunts on the better surfaced country roads which surround me.

The bike blurb states that it is "tubeless ready" and I'd like to set that up (hints and tips would be welcome).

Also, I'd wouldn't mind a bit of advice on the bare minimum essential toolkit to carry with me in a small saddle bag. There's not much point in me having a 9kg bike and carrying half a ton of stuff around which I probably wont need.

Also, any other carbon bike care tips such as cleaning, storage, servicing and anything else that is carbon bike unique (I'd like this bike to last me for a good few years).

I've got ants in my pants waiting for next Saturday.

Last edited:

Colin Grigson

Bass guitarist - Bad News
I hope you cover many thousands of miles on your new bike - enjoy it :becool:

OP
OP
Lovacott

Lovacott

Über Member
You deserve something decent after putting up with an Apollo all that while :smile:
The Boardman is for pure pleasure use and I'm hoping to take advantage of the thunder thighs I have built up lumping the Apollo up and down grrrtt big Devon hills.