Tooth Ache :-(

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

gavgav

Guru
I started with sudden searing toothache on Tuesday evening. Pain is unbearable at times. Been to the dentis twice so far, but all he's done is take 2 x-rays, the 1st of which hasn't shown anything up. I'm hoping the 2nd will. Got some antibiotics to take, but he says only to take them if I really need to!! How am I supposed to know when I really need to? It's very painful and to me that means take them! Anyone got any advice?!

byegad

Legendary Member
Take the pills. If that doesn't sort it out have the thing pulled, at all costs avoid root canal work. I had root canal 30+ years ago and it did save the tooth, for 25 more years of use, at the cost of some very unpleasant and painful moments! The next time I got an abscess on a live tooth I insisted the tooth was pulled. I do not regret the choice, only that I hadn't done it the first time around.

accountantpete

Brexiteer
Most Dentists have digital x-rays so the results are on the screen straight away.

The most likely causes are decay and an exposed nerve or an abscess.

If it is the former then pain killers. If it is an abscess then you need to start taking the antibiotics ASAP.

I used to get an abscess once a year (again root treatment/save the tooth at all costs) and antibiotics don't do you any harm unless you are allergic to them. One painful episode occurred when the Dentist was ill and the Dental Doc at A&E gave me a cocktail of them.

I'm not sure but I think the bacteria can get immune to some antibiotics so it is important to complete the course. The best ones are those you can't have a drink with!

Last edited:

Hacienda71

Mancunian in self imposed exile in leafy Cheshire