What do you wear downstairs?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Ok, ok, I know this is rather personal but I need help.

I'm really new to cycling but so far it's been going great. I got my new road bike on Friday and have since road around 15 miles per day. I've really enjoyed my time in the bike and have even become quite brave on some of the fast downhillers.

The only problem so far is my derrière. Ouch!! I've not had a good look but it is really sore. I suspect it's bruised, slightly chapped and maybe even blistered....... Yes I should probably look :sad:

I'm not the lightest man at 14st and I suspect this is half the issue. However, I'm wondering if my choice of under crackers is making things worse. I wear briefs under my padded cycle shorts and after a ride they are all ruffled up around my nether regions. Could this be a factor?

I'm hoping you more experienced cyclists can help me out with your own experiences/tips. I certainly need a day off tomorrow to give me chance to recover so I'll have plenty of time to read your responses.

Thanks

legsRsore
(and so's my bum)

ianrauk

Tattooed Beat Messiah
I wear briefs under my padded cycle shorts and after a ride they are all ruffled up around my nether regions. Could this be a factor?

yes, they are designed to be worn commando.
Give it a try.

wheres_my_beard

Über Member
Do an Arnold:

commando_wallpaper_by_spitfire666xxxxx-d31h3dc.jpg

How comfortable does he look going commando?

I get this problem alot, but more epecially with boxer shorts, as it 90% of the fabric ends up riding right up and squeezed into a sweaty, sore rag pressed against my delicates.

Lee_M

Guru
As I mentioned in a previous thread, I wear seamless cycling pants underneath my padded shorts.

They keep your tackle in order, don't ride up and are very comfortable.

Got mine from decathlon.