What pedals for touring?

What kind of pedals are you using and why?

• Flat/no attachment

Votes: 20 30.3%
  • Clips and straps

Votes: 5 7.6%
  • Clipless (MTB)

Votes: 36 54.5%
  • Clipless (road)

Votes: 5 7.6%

• Total voters
Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

samid

Guru
I'll start: I have been using Time ATAC clipless for many years now, for all my riding including touring. Now I'm thinking to maybe go back to basics and just use regular, flat, without any attachment system, pedals. So what do you all use and why?

defy-one

I would have thought flat regular pedals would be just fine for touring. Peddle stroke efficiency isn't the highest priority when touring and you can swap shoes easily if something fails/gets wet etc

mcshroom

Bionic Subsonic
I use SPDs because that's what I use on everything else so flats feel a bit weird. My cycling shoes look and feel like walking boots so the SPDs don't annoy me too much off the bike.

I wouldn't use road cleats as I do a fair bit of walking around on tour and wouldn't want to have to keep swapping shoes.

I use speedplay frogs, double sided pedals so no faffing and the cleats are particularly hard wearing for walking around.

I use double sided shimano XT mtb - having ridden with clips and straps from an early age when I got my first proper bike I dont feel safe if my feet are not connected to the pedals - especially when the weather is wet - pedal efficiency does come into a little bit - being able to unweight the pedal on the return stroke allows me to keep a relatively high cadence all day or when slogging up the odd col mitigating against fatigue and allows for the really big effort when lugging a loaded bike up the steeper bits.

Pottsy

Time ATAC for me. Simple, reliable and lots of float.