Which Brompton?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

All uphill

Still rolling along
I have no experience of Bromptons. I'm planning a trip to Belgium by train, ferry and cycling in just over a month and think that a Brompton could be great for this, and for the future.

So I want to get up to speed on Bromptons quickly. Budget £1k.
I need to be prepared for wind so gears will be helpful.

Any advice on where to start looking and what model?

I'm 5'8", 72kg and will be staying in hotels, B and B, so no camping.

I have no experience of Bromptons. I'm planning a trip to Belgium by train, ferry and cycling in just over a month and think that a Brompton could be great for this, and for the future.

I think my next bike will be a touring capable folder and I'd like to point out that there are more options than a Brompton. I've been known to throw on an incognito tab and go perving over Airnimal or Bike Friday websites^_^

As always CGOAB has a folding bike tour category

To be really, really dull and boring, a month isn't a long time to do some research, get a bike, get used to it and get it set up for the lowlands. Especially if you have longer term plans for that bike.
Sorry! :blush:

The other thing is that if going second hand, they're the kind of bikes that don't show up very often. Sometimes a bit of patience can throw up a deal.

There's a lot to getting the most out of a folder for touring, especially loaded, and potentially a lot of additional expense for maximising carrying space. A bit of thought and some research can stand to you in the long run.

My suggestion would be to look at Decathlon for a cheap "proof of concept" bike (250 quid, I believe), have your adventure, learn and refine what you might be needing. Decathlon have a decent returns policy. You might even be able to return it afterwards.........^_^

And please, keep us updated on the topic. I'd love to follow along.

OP
OP
All uphill

All uphill

Still rolling along