White rose challenge

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Ohthehills

Hi all
I am new to cycling and am currently looking at doing the white rose challenge next year "48 mile" short ride but that's not short for me!

I am wondering the best way to train for it and any advise on training plans ect.

I do use bkool and have broke the route into 3 sections so I can Ryde different sections to try get used to the course.

Should I ride one section weekly ie weekends and then do easier routes though the week or should I just do a zone training plan on bkool. Not sure what my best approach to training for this would be.
PLZ any advise would be fantastic

rugby bloke

Veteran
Welcome to the Forum. My advise would be not to worry about the specific route. The key is get out and ride some regular miles, you will be surprised how quickly you get used to the distances. Ideally you should be mixing up the distances - a longer ride at the weekends and a couple of mid week shorter rides. To prevent boredom and to keep challenging yourself.
Good luck and enjoy the ride !

Joffey

Big Dosser
Hi, I'd not worry too much about the actual course. I'd start making sure I could ride around 30 miles on flattish terrain first and then I'd start to introduce some climbs so by the time you are about to do the White Rose you are fine to do a 35-40 mile hilly ride close to the elevation of the route you will be doing. The remaining extra miles will be fine - if you can ride 35 miles you can ride 50.

I'd also try to get outside, the conditions this time of year aren't great but you'll breeze around that route if you can do 40 hilly miles in winter.

Good luck!

Globalti

Legendary Member
If you try to recreate it on a trainer you will become saddle sore and bored. Better to get out and do short, enjoyable, good quality rides then build up the mileage later.

OP
OP
Ohthehills

Ohthehills