Why no weight loss?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Libby

I am just getting into cycling. Until 12 months ago I was a fitness instructor but since then I have changed to an office job and going from doing 2 - 4 hours exercise a day to siiting for 8 hours a day has meant weight gain (about 10kg) :-(

I started cycling 3 weeks ago and in that time I have done just over 380 miles. I use a heart rate monitor and am burning off a minimum of 6000 calories a week with cycling and gym work (I still do some weights and teach 1 spin class a week) and am watching what I eat (1600 cals a day in the week, 2000 a day at the weekend).

So far I have lost a big fat 0kg. Am I just being impatient or still eating too much? I am really enjoying the cycling though and do feel as though my fitness is improving again but need to lose weight!

tyred

Legendary Member
It's possible you are over-rating the calories used by cycling.

It also takes time for these things to happen and there may be a bit of muscle gain and muscle is more dense than fat. Do you notice any difference in the fit of your trousers?

JiMBR

Give it time....I'm sure you'll find that the fat loss will kick-in.

Just keep doing what you're doing.

OP
OP
L

Libby

I'm used to the whole muscle weighing heavier than fat thing and have been trying to focus more on clothes fitting etc. But there doesn't seem to be much difference there either. In the past when I have needed to lose weight I trained about the same amount as I am now in terms of calories and was still losing at least 1kg a week. In reply to the over-rating the calories burned, my heart rate monitor is set up for me and has always been pretty accurate. For example last night I did a 33 mile ride, which took 2 hours 13 (1 hour 54 for the first 30 miles then really chilled for the last 3) Average HR was 140 and cals burned was 1410. I thought this seemed about right but let me know if you think differently?

Angelfishsolo