Wide 700c tyres

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
OP
OP
P

Percy

andym said:
Erm, what reputation? So far as I know XT hubs have a pretty good reputation - and I can think of more expensive hubs that have had problems (I've seen examples of Rohloff hubs failing too). A 40-hole hub is inevitably going to be weaker simply because of the number of holes - and I think it's a red herring. To be honest I doubt you'd get better than Shimano. A quick check suggests that Shimano XT hubs are heavier then SLX hubs (411g vs 384G). Personally I can't see any reason not to go for XT.

I was referring to willem's comment: "There have been enough reports of XT hubs failing to not be surprised. The 40 hole xt rear hubs (not the tandem one) have a nasty reputation."

I've no experience of, or contact with, their reputation myself, only my own experiences of them.

I'd be inclined to agree with you, andym - I see no major reason not to go back to Shimano. Nothing is going to be guaranteed unbreakable.

andym

Über Member
Percy said:
I was referring to willem's comment: "There have been enough reports of XT hubs failing to not be surprised. The 40 hole xt rear hubs (not the tandem one) have a nasty reputation."

Sorry, my post was meant to sound puzzled and quizzical. I should have simply said that you can't generalise from a 40 hole hub because of the particular challenges that involves.

Freddie

Percy said:
Do you actually gain that much from switching to a wider tyre beyond, say, 35mm? I'm sort of inclined to go as wide as I can but then I think I'm probably just being paranoid. My load wasn't excessive before but then it wasn't super light either. Are the wider tyres that much more forgiving?