Working for deliveroo

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

L14M

Über Member
Hey Guys and Girls!

It's been a hella while since i've posted on here, but thought i'd shed some light on what it's like working for deliveroo for any of you who have been thinking about doing it. Now I want to make it explicitely clear that I am in no way plugging deliveroo (as it's a pretty crap company to work for, conditions and security wise). But I am currently a student using it as a lifeline. I do however get a bonus for referring any of you, and you also get a £50 bonus for being referred as an incentive! (See the link at the bottom - once you've actually understood it's downsides)

Going to be completely honest - i'm fairly broke at the moment paying my way through my commercial pilot course. There is only so much I can put on a bank loan. So i'm forced to ride for deliveroo. I'm on £3.75 per delivery, it's alright. At peak times, averaging 4 deliveries an hour, not including tips = at least £15 per hour. Plus the maintenance of your bike. The money is decent for the work you do, usually. Otherwise if you're in a quiet zone, you get an hourly rate. £6 or 7 per hour plus £1 per delivery. Considering you could just sit and watch the world go by, if there was no deliveries, it's not too shabby. The people you meet are also pretty damn nice.

The gear you get given is pretty damn good. Honestly, i've tested this stuff in the worst of conditions. The jacket is very, very, very waterproof, windproof and yet not too warm. It's the best quality cycling jacket i've ever had. Plus it's got a good amount of reflective area. The bag - well, i'm not going to lie. You do and will look like a Knob with it. But if you correctly adjust and load it, (C.g being as close to your back as possible) it's actually pretty decent.