Absolute Beginner - looking for advice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

NeilEB

Hi all,

I've stumbled across this forum and it seems like a good place to get advice so here goes!

As a bit of background, I'm 34 and looking to get into cycling, having not cycled since I was about 14 or so.

I'm looking to try and get fit, as well as take my 3 year old son out on trips occasionally.

So I'm looking for:
- A multi-purpose bike that is newbie-friendly if such a thing exists.
- Suitable for roads, pathways and very gentle x-country (cycling through woods etc). I'm not going to be doing any major off-raoding or anything like that
- Preferably something that I can attach a kids bike to so that my son can ride behind me (he can't really cycle on his own yet)
- Budget wise, as I'm not sure how much I'll be enjoying it, I don't want to spend ridiculous money. Preferably around £100, certainly less then £200
- I wont be using it to commute to work (it's about 25 miles straight up the M1), so it will be more of a weekend thing.
- In temrs of me, I'm around 5'9, and wieght about 17 stone (hence the wanting to get fit!)

Any ideas?

You'll pick up a hybrid that should be able for what you describe. I think the Carrera subway from Halfords starts at your upper budget and from all accounts they are good bike, other ones which are good vfm apparently are ones from Decathlon. Although 2nd hand may be best for that budget. Stick away from bikes of that value from supermarkets and catalogues, they tend to be not just heavy but badly constructed, sometimes dangerously and will not be up to what you describe (they have the tendency to fall apart) buying them is a false economy.

Edit: And Welcome to the forum :welcome:

coffeejo

Ælfrēd
Second the vote for a hybrid - mine happily goes through the woods, across fields and down muddy paths. Just remember to stand up on the pedals for the bumpy bits, if you end up with one without suspension
biggrin.gif