Advice on Malin Head to Mizen Head.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Cringles

I already searched the forum history & found some good info. But I'm wondering if anyone on the forum has done it recently & still has a record of their route? I'm just looking for someone's route to use as a guide, & I'll change it to fit myself. Some of the maps I've found, it looks like people cycling through fields & over lakes at times!

Also slightly confused by people cycling on a Dual Carriage or Motorway? It would be my first tour if I go ahead with it. I have no experience in planning routes, so I'm not sure if people are using Google maps to plan their route road by road.

avsd

Guru

barnesy

Hi,

I have done this a few years ago, I live in Belfast and got a bus to Derry, I then cycled up to Malin Head Hostel pretty easy, stayed the night and started at Malin Head the following morning. My route was as follows:

Monday 7th June - Bus to Derry then to Malin Head (http://www.malinheadhostel.com/)

Tuesday 8th June - Malin Head to Omagh (65 miles) B&B

Wednesday 9th June - Omagh to Carrick on Shannon (70 miles) (An Oiche 00353868365220 22euro)

Thursday 10th June - Carrick on Shannon to Kinvara (82 miles)(http://www.anoige.ie/hostels/doorus-house 0035391637512 17euro)

Friday 11th June - Kinvara to Tralee (98 miles)(Finnegans Hostel - 00353667127610 - 15 euro)

Saturday 12th June - Tralee to Bantry (75 MIles) B&B

Sunday 13th June - Bantry to Mizen head then to Skibareen (57 miles) Bus to Cork Then Bus to Belfast

Total - 447 Miles

I didnt bring a tent and any time i stayed in a Hostel i was pretty much the only person there, not good new for Irish tourism in the height of summer. The riding was easy and the people friendly. This was my second trip in Ireland, the previous year i set out to cycle round the coast of Ireland from Belfast.