Audax touring/bikepacking gravel/adventure bike recommendations please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Fiona R

Formerly known as Cranky Knee Girl
I've been riding for nearly 5 years, I have a 4 yo Merida Ride Lite Juliet 94 44cm Shim105 upgraded to a 11-32 rear casette to help on hills that I have done 200km audax on and toured the west coast of Scotland and islands for 2 weeks with panniers (hostels/BnB not camping) I have also just bought a Trek Xcaliber 8 mountain bike and bikepacked with panniers the Cairngorms loop a few weeks ago. I'm 52, height 160cm and already have a 10 yr old knee replacement and nurse healed prolapsed discs. I also ride a 5yo Pinnacle Neon 2 for commutes/utility cycling and it was my starter bike that's still going strong, relatively light for a hybrid. I did my first 100km on that bike.

I ride about 150km a week, mainly 100km audax, club rides plus commutes on the Neon. I average 21km/h on road generally so I am slow even if I do get there eventually, I'm a plodder uphill and a nervous descender due to eyesight issues.. It's hard enough to find ride buddies for longer rides at my speed so I do not want to be slowed down anymore than is necessary.

I'd like something in between, that goes off piste, copes with mucky foul winter roads, audax, touring and general club riding. Must have:
Small frame 44 up to 48cm absolute max so many bikes ruled out as they start at 50cm.
Disc brakes (been blown over by them on my Trek xcaliber)
Hill gears towards mtb range but can't decide if a single or triple is most appropriate!
Take rugged tyres up to 40, probs 32-34
Not too heavy (so not Surly, Dawes, Ridgeback, Genesis, Ribble CGR etc)
Take rack and mudguards
Not be pink/purple!!!
Budget around £1000, could go higher if perfect, can't claim cycle to work scheme

Friends have come up with these ideas:
Spa Cycles Wayfarer (but think a little heavy)
Planet X London Road
Pinnacle Arkose 4
dismissed Ribble CGR