Best Hybrid bike £500 or under?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

LC155

Hi all,

Haven't ridden a bike since I was around 14. 18 now. I'm looking to get into cycling as a way of keeping fit and for recreation (I'm also doing weightlifting so thought it would be good for cardio).

I live in a rural village, so while the roads are mostly clean, there are some dirt paths that I would have to take some times. Nothing extremely off road though, so I thought a hybrid bike would be best for me. (Back when I was younger I used a cheap Apollo MTB)

All in all, half of the time would be spent on road, the other half on marked paths/cycle paths.

Now, since I'm a complete novice as to what 'is what' with cycling, I'd like to ask for your opinions on what the best hybrid bike for 500 or lower is. I've seen a lot of contenders (most on evans cycles, have heard bad things about halfords), but can't make up my mind exactly.

vickster

Legendary Member
I have a Specialized, but would go for a Trek next time I think - light and quick - may want slightly chunkier tyres, the slicks are ok for most stuff though

This for £500 would be on my list - find a friendly local bike shop, get a decent deal and some freebies/discounts. Where are you based? Evans are accommodating for test rides, as should an LBS be, while Hellfrauds are rubbish

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/trek/73-fx-2011-hybrid-bike-ec023963

OP
OP
L

LC155

I have a Specialized, but would go for a Trek next time I think - light and quick - may want slightly chunkier tyres, the slicks are ok for most stuff though

This for £500 would be on my list - find a friendly local bike shop, get a decent deal and some freebies/discounts. Where are you based? Evans are accommodating for test rides, as should an LBS be, while Hellfrauds are rubbish

http://www.evanscycl...d-bike-ec023963

Hi,

Unfortunately, I'm based in Aberdeenshrie - the only local place I think is in Peterhead - Hellfords. :sad: