Breathless after 2 miles

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

K33k00

Hi everyone,
I do 2 miles in 5 - 8 minutes and am really exhausted at the end, I do feel i push myself quite a bit for this journey. I ride a Hybrid (carrera crossfire 2) and have been doing so for a year.

Would you say it is normal to be exhausted for that journey?

also whilst on subject of times any hints on shaving a few seconds/minutes off that, without spending money?

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Keep going, keep trying.

I end up breathless at every set of lights. The fitter you get, its still as hard, you just go faster. ;)

Beebo

Firm and Fruity
you probably havent warmed up after 2 miles. You're body is going from nothing to a mad dash then nothing.

I find the first 10 minutes are the hardest, and then my legs, lungs and heart seem to click in. Your body needs to warm up.

BSRU

A Human Being
Are you using a massive gear?
When I started riding many moons ago I copied what I saw in the Tour de France and mistakenly rode around on the big ring everywhere:blush:

phil_hg_uk

I am not a member, I am a free man !!!!!!
Hi everyone,
I do 2 miles in 5 - 8 minutes and am really exhausted at the end, I do feel i push myself quite a bit for this journey. I ride a Hybrid (carrera crossfire 2) and have been doing so for a year.

Would you say it is normal to be exhausted for that journey?

also whilst on subject of times any hints on shaving a few seconds/minutes off that, without spending money?

Sounds like you need to slow down a bit, it isn't a race you know ;)

OP
OP
K

K33k00

Sounds like you need to slow down a bit, it isn't a race you know ;)
I know what your saying, i just like getting from a to b quick. Is not rally an enjoyable ride it's just my daily commute. Enjoyable rides any usually as much of an issue because they is no time limit.

Are you using a massive gear?