Brooks Saddle Weatherproofing

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

tyred

Legendary Member
Don't see why not. Vaseline will also work.

C

chillyuk

Just don't do what I did to a motorcycle seat once years ago and polish it with silicone polish. I had sore nuts for weeks every time I applied the brakes.

Rohloff_Brompton_Rider

Formerly just_fixed
just stick a plastic bag up inside the rails and fit when not using it (the bike). cheap and i don't think people will nick a plastic bag.

edit: i thought the proofide was a waterproofer?

longers

Legendary Member
I'm not an expert but think I've read of dubbin softening the saddle too much.

I've got some spare proofide if you wanted it posting - just post back the remainder.

ASC1951

Guru
longers said:
I'm not an expert but think I've read of dubbin softening the saddle too much.
Definitely don't use dubbin! It's not a good solution even for boots.

Proofide is worth the cost. A tin will last you a decade.

bikefettler

After using various leather treatments inc proofide I have come to the conclusion (having ruined a brooks conquest) that a little and not very often is the way to go, You are not trying to soften the leather merely maintain its natural elasticity and too much too often will result in pressure being where it shouldn,t and you sinking into the saddle rather than just your sit bones developing dents in the saddle as the leather adapts to your physique,The best saddle soap I ever had included lanolin and made the saddle semi waterproof but I would still say put a carrier bag on it if left out in the rain.

gwhite

Über Member
I've copied this from a post I made to Bike Forums. Hope it helps.