Calories on Strava

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Heltor Chasca

Out-riding the Black Dog
I never take into account the vagaries of calorie counts.

Wind? Altitude? Ascent? Descent? Gear selection? Panniers? Your health? Your heart rate?

I really can’t see how it can be calculated.

As for GPS elevation: I have heard that only barometric measurements are worthwhile. But even then, I’ve heard there are variables. I’m still learning.

vickster

Legendary Member
As above. I go with an estimate of 30 per mile if you’re bothered

Your own weight also makes a difference, you’ll burn more if you weigh 20 stone vs 10

Lozz360

Veteran
I get the same difference between Garmin calories and Strava calories. I have it on strong authority that Garmin calories are indeed accurate. Although this is not based on scientific evidence, unfortunately. What it is based on is my need for beer and high calorie food post ride.

Jody

Stubborn git
OK its only a guide but it depends on the parameters that you put in. Weight, height, sex, type of bike, weight of bike, average speed etc.

Check what you have put in yours and see of there are any discrepancies. Out of interest how far did you ride and how fast?

Alan O

Über Member
As most people have said, estimates of calorie burn by fitness devices/cycling computers/etc are really not very accurate, for a variety of reasons - with the biggest variation coming from individual body weight and fitness.

One thing in particular I've always considered useless is calorie counts on gym exercise machines - they have no clue about the weight of the exerciser, which is the biggest contributor to calorie burn.