Campag Freehub now quiet???

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
I've a pair of Campagnolo Khasmin wheels 10spd on my Ribble have done just over 2,000 miles on them.
The freewheel was nice and clicky when coasting but while out yesterday it has gone silent also occasionally when starting to pedal after coasting the chain seems to jump.
Couple of questions
Have I killed it ?
Is it in need of a new Freehub ?
Or do I need a new rear wheel ?

Thanks in advance as I've never done this many miles on a bike

Hacienda71

Mancunian in self imposed exile in leafy Cheshire
I am no expert but it sounds like the pawls may be a bit sticky. Might be worth taking the freehub off and giving all a good clean and see if everything is OK inside.

Eribiste

Careful with that axle Eugene
As per Hacienda's advice, the non-return pawls inside have got gummed up. I would take the wheel off the bike, remove the cassette, then dribble in 3 in 1 oil to the freehub. Keep dribbling and turning until normal service is resumed. If water has got into the hub inthe past you will probably see some rusty looking stuff coming out; use some wipes to keep cleaning this away.

gbb

Legendary Member
Assuming the hub is similar to Fulcrum 5s, which I think it is...dis-assembly and inspection is easy, the pawls are fully visible etc. Wouldnt hurt to give them a little clean and lube anyway. Be aware, if you do, I find my hubs a lot less clicky after lubing so you may not get the clickiness back as loud as it was for a while.

berty bassett

Legendary Member
there is a bit in there holding pawls - i had it break on me so i had no freewheel so when i stopped peddling the chain sort of bunched up then jump all of a sudden - a pack of 3 springy bits cost were cheap enough and solved problem ( you only need 1 ) - but sorry i cant tell you the correct term for them- springy pawl retaining clips should cover it though

Mobytek