Camping mattress/matt

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Pottsy

I'm a bit of a novice to this camping malarchy and it all sounds quite complex, though with plenty of opportunity to buy some new kit. :smile:

So another question. You seem to be able to buy a basic matt for about £8 or so, or a self-inflating thermarest type mattress for about £80.

What do people recommend given the usual cycling requirements of lightweight and compact, whilst still retaining a modicum of comfort?

Thanks.

Bigtallfatbloke

Alves

These self inflating mattresses are great and undoubtedly comfortable BUT they are expensive, can puncture and are heavier than a simple Karrimat. If you only do a little camping and it's not in winter and on grass sites you could well save a lot of money with a simpler thin foam mattress. They are adequate for warmth and insulation from the cold ground in summer and if you do plan to camp in grassy sites (ie most of the time) I find these quite adequate. They can also be cut to shape and will lose a little of their bulk that way.
This is the sort of thing http://www.walkandtravel.com/products/detail.asp?179,0,0,0,9
but there are loads about and they will all be cheaper and you can then buy a nice bottle of wine and sleep well with that inside you!

JackE

Über Member
A Thermarest RidgeRest (around £15-20) is much more comfortable than a thin foam cheapo one.
Alpkit products are superb quality and value. I've just got one of their Pipedream 400 down sleeping bags and it's superb for the price (£110).

coopman