Chainrings, Cassette & derailleur MTB

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Bagheera

Hi folks,

I posted a week or so ago and got some great help as I'm stripping down and refreshing my old Apollo mountain bike mainly to learn mechanical skills and have an off roader. My Giant Hybrid bike is ordered and shoukd be with me soon! I just have a few questions from today's work:-

The Chainrings (Crank/Chainset not sure on terminology), do you replace as a whole or the individual rings? Mine has 3 main rings but apart from the plastic protective piece doesn't appear to come apart.

Should you replace the Cassette when you replace the chainring? The chain rings are bent, rusty but the cassette seems better but I'm no expert!

On the derailleur. Do you replace the whole thing or just the indivdual cogs? There's a metal bracket and little screws attached, just wondered if the lot gets changed?

After all the above, should i really fit a new chain too?

Many thnks in advance for any replies.

Hugh Manatee

Veteran
Some low end chainsets, (that's the crank and the rings) don't come apart. Higher end stuff you can replace individual chainrings.
Anything with a sort of shark fin profile, (teeth on cassette and rings) is worn and will struggle to integrate with newer components.

OP
OP
B

Bagheera

Some low end chainsets, (that's the crank and the rings) don't come apart. Higher end stuff you can replace individual chainrings.
Anything with a sort of shark fin profile, (teeth on cassette and rings) is worn and will struggle to integrate with newer components.
Thanks for replying.

I can't honestly say the cassette are fin like, they are pretty straight at the top. However, a couple appear twisted so don't know whether that would qualify for replacement of whole cassette?

vickster

Legendary Member
Thanks for replying.