Dawes Galaxy Tour

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Davidi

Regular
Hi all, this is my first posting.
I have bought a Dawes Galaxy "Tour" off ebay, it is British racing green with Galaxy Tour on the cross bar.
Expecting delivery next week
My intention is to custom build it as tough no nonsense touring bike, avoiding anything high tech as it need to be fixable on the road.
Before going to that extent I was wondering about the frame, I cannot see any Reynold stickers at all.
Can anyone offer any advice as to the material type?
I am an experienced builder having just completed a Paul Donahue 531 bike and two electric conversions.
I will also be putting up for sale a Giant TCR Carbon custom built. complete with Campag Record group set and Neutron wheels some time soon.
But advise on the Dawes frame would be appreciated.
Thanks all.

carpenter

Über Member
I think that there has been a Galaxy since 1970's, photo or link to eBay post would be really helpful

edit: does it look like this one? https://glorydays.cc/shop/bikes-for-sale/dawes-galaxy/

OP
OP
D

Davidi

Regular
Cheers
That is indeed the one, but again no Reynolds label on that one as well.
I wonder why, it's a mystery at the moment.

Rickshaw Phil

Overconfidentii Vulgaris
Hi and :welcome: @Davidi from a fellow Dawes Galaxy Tour owner.

Looking closely at the details on your frame it looks to be what the stickers claim it is. Mine does have the Reynolds stickers on and it's 531ST. It's a great bike - eats the miles, handles well and gives a nice smooth ride.

I hope you'll really enjoy yours when it's built up.:okay:

OP
OP
D

Davidi

Regular
Hi and :welcome: @Davidi from a fellow Dawes Galaxy Tour owner.
View attachment 569583

Looking closely at the details on your frame it looks to be what the stickers claim it is. Mine does have the Reynolds stickers on and it's 531ST. It's a great bike - eats the miles, handles well and gives a nice smooth ride.