Disc Brake Squeal

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

GuyBoden

Guru
I'm new to Disc Brakes, I've bleed the hydraulic system, put in new brake pads, realigned the calipers etc.
Everything seems mechanically ok?

When I squeezed the levers very hard I get a loud squeal, which is very effective as a warning to pedestrians, but annoys some people. Personally, I don't mind the squeal.

Do I need to do something, mechanically?

Threevok

Growing old disgracefully
All brakes squeal
They may squeal because they are new and need to be bedded in
Or they may squeal because they are sintered pads (organic or resin ones don't seem to squeal as much but don't last as long)
Pads or discs may have become contaminated, although this is normally coupled with a lack of braking performance

If the problem persists, you may want to try a little copper grease on the rear (only) of the pads

OP
OP
GuyBoden

GuyBoden

Guru
All brakes squeal
Or they may squeal because they are sintered pads (organic or resin ones don't seem to squeal as much but don't last as long)
Pads or discs may have become contaminated, although this is normally coupled with a lack of braking performance

If the problem persists, you may want to try a little copper grease on the rear (only) of the pads

Thanks, yes, they are new sintered pads, the discs have been degreased and cleaned, so contamination is not the problem.
If they don't stop squealing, I will just have to learn to enjoy the squeals. :okay:

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Have you bedded them in with a few hard braking sessions, but not to a full stop. My brakes only squeel on first braking if they have just gone through a deep puddle. Being on an MTB its more gritty noise until the disks are wiped clean by the pads.

Threevok

Growing old disgracefully
In the wet they even worse :laugh:

There can also a difference in brake pad manufacturers too

I find the Avid sintered squeal a lot more than Clarkes sintered