Do I really need to carry a chain link tool ?

Should one carry a chain link tool ?

• Yes

Votes: 64 68.1%
  • No

Votes: 30 31.9%

• Total voters
Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Rooster1

I was right about that saddle
I've been carrying a chain link tool and spares for the past ten years and I've never once needed it. I inspect my bike regularly and I swap the chain when it is worn. I do recall once having half a link come apart but I managed to make it back to base. The tool is heavy and clunky.

So should I continue to carry this thing that seems redundant?

cisamcgu

Legendary Member
I broke a chain in the midst of Scotland on a Sunday !

Carry it :smile:

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...
Carry it! Stuff happens and it is one of the few tools that you will not be able to borrow from a non-cyclist if the worst should happen.

I have used mine 'in the field' a number of times, although rarely for my own bike, but it can/does happen and the repair is preferable to the alternative.

You'll be fine if you buy decent chains, change them when they should be and most importantly fit them correctly.

I've never heard of a snapped chain that isn't due to one of the above.
WRONG!

nickyboy

Norven Mankey
In the past 5 years cycling I've had two broken chains, both of which I've sorted using the chain breaker (that's what you're referring to, right?) and a spare quick link
Only last week I offered to help a cyclist with a snapped chain who was walking but he was almost home
I'd regard it as a good decision to take one with me, particularly as like @I like Skol says, you can't fix it without this specific tool

fossala

Guru
Carry it! Stuff happens and it is one of the few tools that you will not be able to borrow from a non-cyclist if the worst should happen.

I have used mine 'in the field' a number of times, although rarely for my own bike, but it can/does happen and the repair is preferable to the alternative.

WRONG!