Do you feel confident fixing a mate's bike?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Brandane

Legendary Member
I will tackle any job on my own bike; but not keen to work on anyone else's bike in case something goes wrong sometime down the line. My own knowledge of bike maintenance has been self taught and sometimes comes at a price following a disaster!
My mate wants me to "help" (i.e. do everything!) to replace the chain and cassette on his carbon framed bike. I'm not keen, in case I mess up joining the chain (he doesn't have a quick-link which is what I would use on mine). Plus it's going to be a mucky job as his bike gets zero maintenance; and I'm not even sure if the new chain will run ok on the existing rings.... So all in all it's something I would rather not get involved in. How do I break the news? He's bought the parts on-line so I doubt if any LBS will entertain him, unless the cost of labour compensates.

screenman

Legendary Member
To answer the op, yes.

winjim

Smash the cistern
A couple of my mates own a bike shop so if anybody comes to me with bike issues they get the work sent their way.

They will fit parts bought online, but they will also price match the online bike shops so there's no excuse really.

adamhearn

Veteran
I'd help anyone do anything but I'd sooner be helping rather than leading. The reason - I don't know it all but what I do know, I don't mind sharing mainly so that the other party can do it themselves next time. Friends from past life have gotten me to angle grind [a mm of material on a slightly offset brake caliper mount] in front of them and others have not even been keen for me to pump their squishy tyres up. Everyone's different :smile: