Getting back on the road.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Ascent

I'm looking at getting back on the road after a years enforced break and am looking to get a new bike.

I've been riding a hybrid for the past 15 years or so but want to move onto a proper road bike.

I've made a short list and would like people's opinions on them and maybe suggestions that are similar to those I've looked at.

The bikes are the Pinnacle Laterite 3, the Giant Contend 2 and the Boardman Road Comp.

I had initially written off Halfords but I get the impression that the Boardman bikes are quite good but that Halfords service can be variable.

Are these good starter bikes? I'm more interested in endurance than outright speed.
Thoughts? Opinions?

All input gratefully received.

andygo

Hi
I've never tried any of the bikes you've listed....but I was in a similar position a few years ago so can offer some advice based on that.....

Personally I'd try as many as you can before spending any money.... and find one that feels comfortable.
If you don't enjoy riding it then you probably won't...

For my first bike (after years on mountain bikes) I bought a cheap Halford's racer 2nd hand (Virtuoso) which was recommended on a few forums....I used it for a year or so but was never very happy on it.

Some of the problems.....
* It was aluminium with a steel fork and narrow (25mm) tyres so a v bumpy ride...
* The position was uncomfortable (handlebars felt v low - I ended buying a stem riser to raise the handlebars)
* No room to fit proper mudguards (I use it to commute)
* Came with racing gears (52/42 - 11/25) which was useless for my commute home up a v steep hill.
* Brakes weren't great..

I was actually glad when I crashed it and had an excuse to buy something else.

I've now got a Genesis Croix de Fer which I'm v happy with and would recommend - but it may not tick your boxes..
Reasons I like the Croix de Fer
* Steel frame so more comfortable than aluminium